Report – April 21st, 2011

News from Congleton Cycling Club

It was another glorious and successful April weekend for Members of Congleton Cycling Club.

Denise Hurst completed the Alfreton – Skegness – Alfreton, 300K AUDAX which was one of her qualifiers for P-B-P.

On the Saturday  Club-Run, a select duo of Bob Banner & Dave McVitie made a pleasant trip in great weather to a lunch snack at the Knutsford Heritage Café (and much discussion of the very interesting penny farthing collection) via Radnor, Kermincham, Goostrey, Lower Peover and Plumbley. The return journey was a meander via the A50, Stocks Lane, Peover Heath, Chelford roundabout, Siddington Heath, Clonter and Radnor. (See 

In the Macclesfield  Wheelers’ “25? on J2/9, we had 8 riders: Alf Hilton = 4th place in 54.55, Neil Skellern = 9th place in 56.55, Wayne Jackson = 15th place in 57.55, Karl Austin = 1.00.46, Kelvin Milward = 1.01.42, Duncan Poole = 1.07.49, Peter Hayhurst = 1.14.13, Peter Nelson = 1.18.21. In the “Most Catches” competition, Wayne Jackson was equal 1st with 6 “catches”. Unfortunately a Team Prize was not listed but our Club was fastest team with 2.49.45, ahead of Seamons C.C., Warrington R.C. and Macclesfield Wheelers. 

In the Fibrax Wrexham Hilly TT on the Horseshoe Pass – Ruthin Circuit, Alf Hilton managed 8th place in 1.07.45. The winner’s time was 1.04.42 and this was Junior, Ryan Mullen of Planet-X who is only 16 years old /young. 

Only Mary Renshaw and David Hurst started on the Club-Run and headed for Audlem. 

Another fine evening saw 13 Club members plus 3 guests ride our local 10 mile circuit from Congleton to Holmes Chapel to Brereton to Congleton. Winner was Neil Skellern in a time of 23:00 with Wayne Jackson and Steve Hulme close behind and the only other riders under 24 minutes.

Full Result: Neil Skellern – 23:00;  Wayne Jackson – 23:08;  Steve Hulme – 23:37;  Karl Austin – 24:46;  Kelvin Milward – 25:14;  Stephen Jackson – 26:13;  Duncan Poole – 26:55;  Andy Malbon – 27:25;  Tony Elliott – 27:54;  Darren Nicholls – 28:13;  Peter Hayhurst – 30:16;  Edgar Reynolds – 31:37;  Peter Nelson – 31:46.

Timekeepers: Bob Dale, Jill Elliott. Marshalls: Roy Hayhurst, Denise Hurst, Lynne Skellern. 

In the Bob Job Points Trophy, up to and including last night’s event, Neil Skellern is in the lead with the maximum possible 45 points. 

Future Fixtures

Tuesday, 3rd May, Club 10-mile TT on Gawsworth Circuit. Meet at Rising Sun PH at 6.45pm. 

Our newest website is in development and can be viewed on:

The Club meets every Thursday at 8.30pm at the Rugby Club, Park Street and welcomes anyone who would like to swap ideas and stories on all cycling topics.