Report – April 15th, 2011

April 9th – Withington Wheelers 25-mile TT
In summer-like conditions, most riders improved on their times of the previous week: Karl Austin – 1.00.34; Peter Hayhurst – 1.14.36; Peter Nelson – 1.20.20. Winner was Andy Wilkinson with 51.29. 

April 10th
– Club-Run to Blaze Farm, Allgreave
Denise and David Hurst and Stephen Kane enjoyed the perfect summer weather on their hilly ride via Pott Shrigley and the Brickworks, then Kettleshulme and Windgather, via Goyt Valley and Derbyshire Bridge to Blaze farm near Allgreave. The return route was via Wildboarclouugh, Macc Forest, Fools Nook and Gawsworth. 

– Hell of the North Cotswolds– MTB Challenge
Roy Hayhurst and Bob Norton travelled to Winchcombe near Cheltenham and rode the Hell of the North Cotswolds on mountain bikes. It was a fabulous day, but very hard. It was 103 km (+ 2 off route) up and down (1750 metres of vertical ascent) on tracks paths and minor roads, roughly within an area bounded by Winchcombe, Stow on the Wold and Broadway. It was perhaps 50% off-road although more than 50% of the time was spent off road. Our Members were probably the oldest participants out of 1200. It was a hard but very enjoyable seven hours. How about more Members joining us next year? 

– Peak100
Chris Foster rode the Peak100 on Sunday. Painful but fun! It was for the Kids Can, Curing Children with Cancer charity. Fantastic route in glorious weather (

April 12th
– VTTA 10-mile TT on the Chelford course
In windy but dry conditions, Peter Hayhurst recorded 29.30 and Peter Nelson recorded 31.46. The winner on Standard Time was Jim Gresty with +7.22 (23.53) and on Actual Time, Scott Burns of Manchester Wheelers in 21.30. (correction) 

– Club 10-mile Hilly TT on Circuit of the Cloud
10 Members and 2 Guests rode the first Club time trial of the season – a 9.5 mile circuit of the Cloud, with the climbs of Blacky Bank, then Bridestones, followed by Wood Treatment Works to Timbersbrook. It was a bright and sunny but chilly evening, although the wind had dropped somewhat. Bob Norton and Bob Dale were time keepers and the Marshals jobs were  covered by Denise Hurst, Roy Hayhurst, Kelvin Milward and Peter Nelson.  quite a few spectators around course too.
Members times: Neil Skellern – 29.02;  Wayne Jackson – 30:19;  Karl Austin – 32:28;  Stephen Jackson – 32:56;  Brendan McLaughlin – 34:36;  Darren Nicholls – 34:47;  Tony Elliott – 37:26;  Andy Malbon – 37:51;  Edgar Reynolds – 40:15;  David Hurst – 46:32. The fastest time was recorded by Mark Lovatt of Planet-X with 27:03.

Future Fixtures
Tuesday, 26th April, Club 10-mile TT on Gawsworth Circuit.
Meet at Rising Sun PH at 6.45pm. 
Our newest website is in development and can be viewed on:
The Club meets every Thursday at 8.30pm at the Rugby Club, Park Street and welcomes anyone who would like to swap ideas and stories on all cycling topics.