Press Report – 10th May 2013

Congleton Cycling Club’s Chain of Events 

Weekend of 4th to 6th May 

ABC Centreville 10-mile TT on Chelford Course

Our sole representative, Kelvin Milward, recorded 24:48 which yielded a very respectable Veteran’s Standard (Handicap) of +2:02. The event winner was Simon Bridge (Manchester Wheelers) with 20:28, plus a large winning margin on Veteran’s Standard of +5:41.

Clubrun to Tattenhall – 73 miles

Eleven riders completed the club run on Sunday May 5th on a promising spring day. They were Bob and Georgina Norton, David McVitie, Sue Blake, Mike Line, Pete Smith, Rob Waghorn, Stephen Kane, Steve Kirkham, Rowland Bainbridge and Chris Guest. The group started as one but at Church Minshull, it split into two groups, still with the same destination of Tattenhall. Both groups travelled on via Barbridge, Cholmondley, Bickerton, Harthill to Tattenhall. After checking out the Ice Cream Farm cafe which was found to be packed with Bank Holiday day trippers we opted for “Old Ma’s” Tea Room nearby, which was much quieter. After a leisurely lunch we all set off towards Beeston Castle and on through Bunbury, Alpraham, Wettenhall, and back through Church Minshull and Brererton Heath again. The ride distance was about 73 miles (a bit more for the faster group who took a slightly longer route to the cafe).

Buxton C.C. Mountain TT on Longnor-Flash-Royal Cottage Circuit – 22 miles (3 laps)

On a very warm day in the hills, our Sole representative, Nick Decker, recorded 01:44:34. The winner was Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy Cycling Team) with 1:23:20.

7th May – Club 10-mile TT on Chelford Course

Fine evening for first race this year on the Chelford course attracted 38 riders. Winner was Steve Burke (Macclesfield Wh) with a time of 21:57, second and fastest Congleton rider was Steve Hulme with 22:35. Fastest of the juniors this week was Joe Langford with 29:45.

The Result (Winner / CCC Members): Steve Burke (G) 21:57, Steve Hulme 22:35, Pete Smith 22:53, Pete Tatton 23:47, Stephen Jackson 24:05, Wayne Powell 24:10, Mike Jones 24:36, Kelvin Milward 25:01, Ben Norbury 25:27, Paul Dentith 25:29, Mike Line 25:57, Duncan Poole 26:15, Paul Turner 26:23, Ed Wright 26:58, John Ratcliffe 27:58, Tony Elliott 28:13, Joe Langford, 29:45, David McVitie 30:12, Mark Allen 30:47, Sue Blake 30:56, Beth Eardley 32:02, David Hurst 33:12.

Officials and Helpers: Georgina & Bob Norton, Jill Elliott(G), Denise Hurst, Avril & Rob Waghorn, Richard Cowan, Roy Hayhurst, Jamie Willets, Phil Allen (G), Rob Langford(G).

The Club meets every Thursday at 8.30 p.m. at the Rugby Club, Park Street, except for the first Thursday of the month where the venue is Beartown Tap. Anyone who would like to swap ideas and stories on all cycling topics is welcome to attend.