Report – 2nd June 2012

Congleton Cycling Club’s Chain of Events 

Weekend of 19th / 20th May

Fred Whitton Challenge – 112-mile Hilly (very) – Lake District

Three Members – Stephen Jackson, Wayne Powell and Pete Smith, together seven friends, completed this toughest of rides, with 4000 metres ascent. They needed 8 hrs 50 mins but this included a one-hour lunch stop. There were nine categorised climbs / passes which included gradients of up to 30%: Hawkeshead, Kirkstone, Matterdale, Honister, Newlands, Whinlatter, Irton, Hardknott and Wrynose. The day started wet but the wind then blew the clouds away.

Club 10-mile TT – Holmes Chapel Circuit – 22nd May

The warm summer evening saw a very closely contested race with just 35 seconds separating the top 6 riders. Winner was Brendan McLaughlin in a time of 24:36.

Result (G = Guest): Brendan McLaughlin 24:36, Pete Tatton 24:45, Stephen Jackson 24:52, Phil Gayes (G) 24:57, Jamie Willetts 25:01, Andy Malbon 25:11, Mike Line 26:46, Jon Leigh 28:19, Robert Kerr (G) 28:19, Stephen Kane 28:27, Tony Elliott 28:27, John Green (G) 28:43, John Broadbent 30:38, Peter Nelson 31:38, Doug Machin 32:01, David Hurst 35:07.

Timekeepers: Rob Waghorn

Pusher-off: Steve Sladin

Marshals: Jill Elliott, Roy Hayhurst, Denise Hurst, David McVitie, Kelvin Milward, Georgina Norton and Mary Renshaw

Refreshments: Avril Waghorn.

Signs: Peter Hayhurst 

Weekend of 26th / 27th May 

Clubrun to Priest House Café, Audlem

Steven Kane and David McVitie reported: “With the usual leaders not on show, Georgina Norton, David McVitie and Stephen Kane set off on the pre chosen route to Audlem, following a downloaded GPS route on a cycle computer. Unfortunately, the computer doesn’t come with pre-programmed maps, instead you follow a little black track that approximates to the road ahead. To help with the navigation, it does rudely beep at you when you veer off course. After a few scoldings from the computer, we managed to find the route. Just as the route got sorted, we heard a nasty twang from Georgina’s bike. Alas, a busted spoke meant that Georgina needed rescuing as she could not carry on. David and I carried on following the computer which took a direct route to Audlem via Betley which meant we arrived at the cafe well before lunch. A decision was taken to ignore the computer and ‘head for the hills’ for the return leg. For the most part my memory worked well – so – via Norton-in-Hales, Knighton, Woore, Onneley (Bar Hill), Madeley, Knowl Bank, Audley, Dunkirk, Talke, Church Lawton and Brownlow made the trip 53 miles and 2500’ of climb (about 5 Mow Cops). The weather for once was pleasantly hot and it was good at last to cycle in shorts and short sleeves.”

VTTA National 10-mile TT Championship – St. Asaph

Two Members travelled together at 6 a.m. as the event commenced at 8 a.m. and were pleased that the weather was excellent and the wind did not rise until they had finished their rides. This was the first time that they were to ride this course. Wayne Powell recorder 25.44 and Peter Nelson recorded 29.57. The winner was Rob Pears of Bath C.C. who recorded 19:13 which yielded a “Plus” on VTTA Standard of 7:26 for this 49 year-old. 

Club 10-mile TT – Gawsworth Circuit – 29th May

The warm summer evening brought out 25 riders (16 Congleton CC + 9 guests) and helped produce some fast times. First was James Tucker (South Pennine) with 20:14; second was Steve Hulme with 22:39 in his first race of the year.

James Tucker (G) 20:14, Steve Hulme 22:39, Anthony Blair (G) 22:49, Keith Dutton (G) 23:07, John Swinnerton (G) 23:14, Brendan McLaughlin 23:22, Pete Smith 23:22, Jamie Willetts 23:47, Pete Tatton 24:00, Wayne Powell 24:39, Kelvin Milward 24:42, Duncan Poole 24:58, Mike Line 24:58, Tony Elliott 26:07, Jon Leigh 26:21, Stephen Kane 26:35, Robert Kerr (G) 26:50, Claire Harrison (G) 27:09, John Green (G) 27:25, Stephen Manfield (G) 27:45, Jonathan Poole (G) 28:08, John Broadbent 29:34, Angelo DeAngelis 29:39, Peter Nelson 30:44, Denise Hurst 31:14. 

Timekeeper :Rob + Avril Waghorn

Pusher-Off: Steve Sladin

Marshals: Peter Hayhurst. David Hurst, David McVitie

Dukinfield C.C. 25-mile TT on Chelford Circuit on 2nd June

Two Members rode this local event in dry but cool and breezy conditions. Both riders were pleased to improve on their recent times with Kelvin Milward posting 01:02:55 and Peter Nelson recording 01:17:46. 

Future Events:

Thursday, 7th June – Team Congleton Olympic Event, “Come-And-Try-It Time-Trial”

Distance – 2.5 miles. Meet at 6.30 p.m. – Brereton Country Park Visitor Centre. This is for all cyclists – of 12 years and more – and especially novices. Riders will start at one minute intervals and the course around Brereton Heath, Somerford and A54, will be well signed and well marshalled.

The Awards will include many Age Categories.

View our website:

The Club meets every Thursday at 8.30pm at the Rugby Club, Park Street and welcomes anyone who would like to swap ideas and stories on all cycling topics.