Report – August 15th 2011

Congleton Cycling Club

23rd / 24th  July

Bontrager TwentyFour 12  – 24hr solo MTB race, Newnham Park, Plymouth

Having had a strong early and mid season of training and racing, Jamie Willetts had been looking at this race as one of his main targets for the year. Unfortunately, a heavy off-day at a 10 hour race in Kirroughtree two weeks before, left him a little under-prepared in the final run- up to the event. 

 Willetts reports:

“Having travelled down the day before the race, I arrived to torrential rain which lasted for 4 hours but with the forecast set to improve I was not too panicked. The course was one of the most technical 24 hour courses that I have ridden, with a nice climb up onto the foot of Dartmoor to start, with lots of flowing single-track, before climbing back into a rooty forest section. This set the tone of the course. Dropping back through the event village, the course got back onto the more familiar turf with a muddy single track crawl next to the river before climbing back up to another section of single track and bomb-holes. 

 The race started hot – in terms of pace and heat – with many riders suffering, including myself and I started to get dehydrated by the end of 4 laps. My pace started to suffer, dropping from a top 15 position into the mid pack. I kept moving and was glad when the temperature started to drop in the evening. Unfortunately the heat had already taken its toll and a recurrence of a sore wrist from the previous race was making racing difficult. I managed to get through most of the night until I was struggling to hold onto the bars and steer so had to retire as the sun came up. Due to completing sufficient laps, I still placed 32nd but this was some-what disappointing considering I still had pedalling energy left. A Big Thanks to Abbi and Brian who came down to run the pits and keep me and the bike going as long as possible.”

Warrington R.C. 25-Mile TT on Chelford Course

Kelvin Milward – 1.02.50

 26th July – Club “10” TT on Chelford Course

A warm evening for the last of our races on the Chelford course brought out 26 riders (11 Congleton CC + 15 from other clubs). Steve Hulme was clear winner in a time of 22:11. Other Members’ results: Brendan McLaughlin – 24.05; Kelvin Milward – 24.10; Stephen Jackson – 25.16; Jon Leigh – 25.54; Edgar Reynolds – 26.14; Darren Nicholls – 26.22; Tony Elliott – 27.20; Steve Sladin – 28.14; David Hurst – 31.31.

Timekeepers: Bob Norton, Bob Dale
Marshals: Wayne Powell, Jill Elliott, Denise Hurst

30th / 31st  July

Cheshire Roads Club 50-Mile TT on Chelford Course

Neil Skellern achieved an excellent 2nd place with 1.51.48. The winner was Simon Bridge of Leigh Premier with 1.50.26.

Clubrun to Ice Cream Farm, Tattenhall then Astbury V.H.

Denise and David Hurst, Roy Hayhurst, Peter Nelson, Wayne Powell and DougTaylor enjoyed a fine-weather ride via Middlewich and Utkinton to a very busy Ice Cream Farm. The return ride was via Beeston then the lanes to Brereton but they could not resist another tea-stop at Astbury Village Hall – for a total of 65 miles.

2nd August

Club “10” TT on Gawsworth Course

On a pleasant but coolish evening, Paul Bethell (Team Elite) produced a 21.40 to beat Steve Hulme’s 22.01. Other Members’ results: Kelvin Milward – 24.20; Jamie Willetts – 24.27;  Sue Collins – 24.43; Pete Tatton – 25.36; Darren Nicholls – 26.00; Edgar Reynolds – 26.02;  Tony Elliott – 26.33; Steve Sladin – 27.04; David Hurst – 32.07

Timekeepers: Rob Waghorn, Bob Dale
Marshals: Avril Waghorn, Denise Hurst, Peter Hayhurst, Peter Nelson

6th / 7th August

BDCA “50” TT on Etwall Course

Neil Skellern produced another PB and Club Record with 1.42.42! His 6th place Overall, among the nation’s top (and younger) riders and 3rd place on VTTA Standard, was all the more impressive. The winner was Jeff Jones (Chippenham & District Wheelers) with 1.39.03.

Withington Wheelers “10” TT on Chelford Course

Peter Hayhurst recorded 27.16 which earned him 5th place on VTTA Standard. The winner was Adam Duggleby (Science-in-Sport) with 20.32.

Jean Baker Memorial 72-Mile Road Race at Stourport-on-Severn

Mike Harrison “sneaked” 2nd place in this undulating 14 mile circuit. An early move of 10 riders clipped off on the 1st lap, gaining a maximum of 90 secs. The bunch stayed intact with no other groups getting across to the leaders. Into the final 6 miles the gap was down to 40 secs so he attempted to jump across, on the main climb, with Flavio Zappi (the former KOM in the Giro d’Italia back in the late 80’s). He caught the break with 2 miles to go and fought out a 12 man sprint with Harrison being soundly beaten by a youngster from Halesowen C & AC. All good fun!

Clubrun to Dagfield’s Tea Room at Walgherton

Denise & David Hurst, Peter Nelson and Doug Taylor enjoyed a leisurely ride, again in fine weather, for a total of around 50 miles.

9th August – Club “10” TT on Gawsworth Course

On a pleasant but coolish evening, Steve Hulme won by a clear minute with 22.34. Other Members’ results: Brendan McLaughlin – 24.13; Kelvin Milward – 24.20; Mark Dooley – 24.43; Jamie Willetts – 24.54;  Stephen Jackson – 25.00; Sue Collins – 25.02; Pete Tatton – 25.42; Edgar Reynolds – 26.00;  Duncan Poole – 26.56; Chris Clowes – 27.36; Tony Elliott – 28.03; Steve Sladin – 28.06; David Hurst – 32.30.

Timekeepers: Rob and Avril Waghorn, Pusher – Bob Norton
Marshals: Peter Nelson, Bob Norton.

 13th / 14th August

Lyme Racing “25” TT on Uttoxeter Course

Kelvin Milward recorded his season’s best with 57.36. The winner was Charles Taylor (South Pennine R.C.) with 50.02.

Clubrun to Rose Farm Nursery, Utkinton

Georgina Norton, Bob Banner, Stephen Kane and Wayne Powell have a very pleasant ride to Utkinton, via Church Minshull and returned via Whitegate and Davenham.

 CTT and VTTA National 12-Hour TT Championship on Shropshire course

Neil Skellern, Graham Barker and Peter Hayhurst were our representatives, supported by Family and Members: Denise and David Hurst, Margaret Allen, Mary Renshaw and Peter Nelson. Neil Skellern did a magnificent ride of 286 miles, which was 10 miles more than last year and therefore set another Club Record! Graham Barker was not too happy with his 228 miles and Peter Hayhurst was disappointed with his 186 miles. The winner was Andy Bason (Team Pedalsport) with 302 miles.

Our new website:

The Club meets every Thursday at 8.30pm at the Rugby Club, Park Street and welcomes anyone who would like to swap ideas and stories on all cycling topics.