2017 Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation

The club’s annual dinner and prize presentation took place last Saturday at Astbury Golf Club. After an excellent dinner, the club’s Vice Chairman Lee Wood welcomed the guests. 2017AnnualDinnerThe guest speaker was Hannah Bussey who is a writer for Cycling Weekly. She gave a very motivational account of her career path into cycling journalism. The club’s awards presentation was conducted by the racing secretary Steve Hulme, because Hannah had to leave to make a long trip to the South of England for another engagement. Enthusiastic applause accompanied each of the 17 award winners. The major winner was Ben Norbury who won all the men’s time trial trophies except those for veterans which were taken by Steve Sladin. Steve also won the Karl Austin Memorial Trophy for the most miles in TT’s with 1043 miles. The ladies TT championships were won by Sue Blake. Mark Allen was the club’s road race champion. Philip Gleave was judged the most improved rider having taken second place in the evening TT league. Other award’s were made for mens and ladies touring (Rob Waghorn and Mary Reid), club runs and overall club points (John Jervis). The Graham McCargo Memorial Audax trophy was won by Steve Smith, his achievements included The 1400 km London Edinburgh London event. Club person of the year was awarded to outgoing chairman Bob Norton, after which John Jervis presented a photographic tribute to Bob and Rob Waghorn who also retired this year after 10 yeas as Vice Chairman.

The formalities were closed by Steve Sladin, who raised a laugh whilst thanking the club and its volunteers on behalf of the award winners,
Click on the Dropbox link to see the photos.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.